Resolution Number: A179

Subject: Dialogue with the United Church of Canada

Moved By: Kim Murray from the Diocese of British Columbia

Seconded By: Stephen Andrews from the Diocese of Algoma

Note: The mover and the seconder must be members of the General Synod and be present in the House when the resolution is before the synod for debate.


That this General Synod welcomes the reestablishment of a formal dialogue relationship with the United Church of Canada and looks forward to receiving a report of progress at the General Synod of 2007.


Since the collapse of proposals for organic union with the United Church of Canada in the 1970s, there has been no formal national table at which the Anglican Church of Canada and the United Church of Canada can bring issues of mutual concern. In 1999 and 2000 the ecumenical officers of the two churches held informal discussions in four regions of the country as to whether it would be worthwhile to reestablish dialogue. There was overwhelming support for the idea of having a place to discuss issues (not with any view to structural unity). In the past triennium, the Faith Worship and Ministry Committee reviewed the reports from these gatherings and agreed to establish a dialogue group, which consists of 5 persons from each church plus an ecumenical partner from the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada.

Anglican members (nominated by FWM) are Dr. Bill Harrison (Saskatoon, co-chair), Bishop David Ashdown (Keewatin), Dr. Nancie Erhard (Nova Scotia), Heather Labrie (Athabasca), and the Rev. Erwin Oliver (Huron/ACIP). The major task of the first meeting was to identify the most significant areas of mutual interest and concern. These were named as core theological affirmations, sacramental theology, missiology and witness, shared ministries, and indigenous issues and relationships. Central to the dialogue team’s work is the impetus toward deepening each community’s understanding of the other. To this end, perceptions, stereotypes and history are being explored. There have been three meetings to date.


Source: Faith Worship and Ministry Committee
  (name of committee, diocese, etc.)
Submitted by: Stephen Andrews, Chair